Vitamin C or Orange Juice?

I was feeling the onset of the common cold the other day – having the symptoms of tiredness, feeling sluggish, sore muscles, raise in heart beat, sore throat and headache (the list goes on).

I was rushing out the door to buy myself 1000mg Vitamin C tablets when I realized that I should try and get my vitamins from natural sources – oranges. I have been trying lately to concentrate on food sources – to maintain a healthy lifestyle by eating foods from natural sources and avoiding processed or packaged food. Instead of swallowing some easy pills, I went to the markets and bought 6kg of oranges.

I started to research the benefits of oranges and found out that they have more Potassium than Vitamin C and contain other important vitamins and minerals such as Calcium and Magnesium. Aswell as providing me with the Vitamin C I needed, oranges provide other health benefits, some of which came as a surprise to me:

  • Freshly squeezed orange juice has flavonoids that are useful in controlling blood pressure levels and bad cholesterol
  • Source of Vitamin C
  • Rich in antioxidants
  • Used to fight against heart disease and cancer
  • Boosts your immune system
  • It can be used to reduce the harmful effects of free radicals within your body cells
  • Protects against inflammation

I have been squeezing fresh oranges for the last week, apart from the beautiful citrus refreshing flavor, I didn’t come down with the cold – happy 🙂 (and burned some extra calories trying to squeeze the juice by hand) 🙂

I know I am probably not getting the same mg dosage as I would from the tablets but I feel that my body will be able to absorb the vitamins more efficiently from the fruit than it would the tablets.

I am going to add a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice to my daily fruit allowance, 1 glass is approx. 2 oranges which is about 100 calories. I currently have one banana around mid-morning and I will add my glass or orange juice aswell. Not only am I maintaining a healthy lifestyle by eating two servings of fruit per day, I am getting the necessary vitamins and minerals from natural sources – mission accomplished.

If you are thinking of adding orange juice into your diet, ensure its freshly squeezed and not store bought/packaged juices which contain unwanted sugars and preservatives. They are just full of sugar, raising your insulin levels and do not assist in maintaining your goal weight.

Estelle

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Food & Diet, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

