Mushroom Monday

I am on a real health kick lately as I am trying to incorporate as much organic fruit and vegetables into my diet. I’ve been trying to think of vegetables that I can incorporate into my meals which are healthy, provide me with good nutrition by giving me the the vitamins and minerals that I need but are also low in calories as I am trying to get down to my desired weight.

I have decided to eat mushrooms as I can incorporate them into a lot of meals. Mushrooms are so versatile as you can add them to salads, steak dishes (mushroom sauce), risotto dishes or just have them as as a side dish. If you like mushrooms, you should consider buying them and adding them to you diet due to the following reasons:

  • Mushrooms are abundant of essential vitamins and minerals such as B group vitamins being Riboflavin (B2), Niacin (B3), Biotin, Pantothenic Acid and Folate;
  • Because of the abundance of B vitamins, mushrooms are distinctly different to the nutrients in all other vegetables providing great variety in our diet;
  • Research also suggests that mushrooms contain Vitamin D, which keeps our bones strong and fights disease;
  • Mushrooms are SUPER LOW in calories which means that you can eat a lot of them guilt free 🙂

Check out their nutritional content (source: wikipedia.org)

Be sure to follow FitnessPal blog as it is updated on a daily basis. Also, I have just created a Facebook page so be sure to like FitnessPal on Facebook aswell.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Food & Diet, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

